Congregation Lubavitch - Chabad Jewish Education Center bs"d
Candle Lighting Light Candles
7:57 PM this May 31, 2019
Shabbat Ends 9:06 PM
  Monday, May 27, 2019 - 22 Iyyar 5779
The Rebbe
News & Events
Torah Study
Ask The Rabbi
Jewish Calendar
Upcoming Events
Find a Chabad Center
Photo Gallery
Join our weekly email list
& get all the latest updates.








Share |
The Four Kinds

Another special mitzvah of Sukkot is the shaking together of the "Four Species" -- the etrog (citron), lulav (palm branch), three hadassim (myrtle branches), and two arovot (willow branches). 

Each day of Sukkot (except the Sabbath), we shake the "four kinds" during the daytime.

Hold the lulav, hadassim, and arovot in the right hand, with the lulav's "spine' "facing you.

Say the appropriate blessing(s), then take the etrog in the left hand with the point, or "pitom," up, bring it together with the other three kinds, and shake it.

One explanation, among many, is that each of the four kinds represents a different type of Jew.

The fact that the mitzvah requires all four kinds symbolizes our oneness as a people: we all need one another. And the four species are waved in all four directions, and up and down, signifying that G-d is everywhere.


About us | Donate | Contact us | The Rebbe | News | Parsha | Magazine | Holidays | Torah Study
Questions & Answers | Audio

A Project of Congregation Lubavitch - Chabad Jewish Education Center
100 Woodcliff Road, Brookline, Massachusetts 02467
Tel: (617) 469-5000 Fax: (617) 469-0089
Rabbi Rachmiel Liberman, Executive Director

Powered by © 2013 All rights reserved.